JAA appoints new director

August 2022

The Jewellers Association of Australia (JAA) Board has announced the appointment of a new director to the Board, effective from 23 August 2022.

Former JAA Vice President, Emily Crews, recently advised the Board of her intention to resign, thus creating an opportunity on the JAA Board of Directors. Emily vacates the Board to pursue other commitments in the music industry. 

Emily joined the Board in late 2019 as a co-opted director and Emily’s thoughtful, comprehensive and robust contributions will be missed. The JAA extends its appreciation for her time of service, particularly navigating the JAA through the uncertainty of Covid.

“It is with mixed emotions that we farewell Emily Crews from the JAA Board,” said JAA President, Karen Denaro. “Emily has always been hard-working, present and diligent in her commitment as JAA director and Vice President; traits that will serve her well going forward. She will be deeply missed by myself and the Board. I am certain that Emily’s passion will ensure her much success and I am excited for her. We wish her all the very best for her future endeavours.” 

Joining the Board is Dr. Meredith Doig OAM FAICD, a professional company director and governance consultant. Meredith’s extensive experience includes manufacturing (Ford Australia), mining (Rio Tinto) and banking (ANZ Group).

Over the last 20+ years, Meredith has consulted in organisation effectiveness and on variable Boards of both commercial and not-for-profit organisations, as well as university councils. Meredith is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and for five years taught their flagship Company Directors Course. For 10 years she was a moderator with the Cranlana Programme on Ethics and The Good Society. Her Australian honour was for service to business, higher education and the community. For 50 years she has been a passionate motorcyclist and was Australia’s first Chief Motorcycling Instructor.

“We are thrilled to have Meredith join our JAA Board,” said Karen. “Meredith’s reputation precedes her. She brings a great degree of experience and knowledge in the governance sector, which is particularly advantageous to the JAA and Board, alike. Our continuing directors and I welcome Meredith, wholeheartedly. I look forward to her considered and valuable input.”

Replacing Emily Crews as Vice President and also assuming the role of Treasurer is existing Director Joshua Sharp, of Ian Sharp Jewellery, effective immediately.

Current JAA Board Directors include:

  • Karen Denaro, JAA President, Brilliamo Designer Jewellery and Designer, Denaro Designs
  • Joshua Sharp, JAA Vice President and Treasurer, Ian Sharp Jewellery
  • Jo Tory, Najo
  • Cameron Marks, Percy Marks
  • Ronnie Bauer, Klepners
  • Dr Meredith Doig OAM FAICD, Professional Company Director and Governance Consultant

The current Board and their profiles can be found at