Breguet wins horological Grand Prix

The Breguet Classique Chronometrie has won the main prize, the Aiguille d'Or award, at the 14th annual Grand Prix d'Horlogerie de Geneve.
Posted in News, World News

The Breguet Classique Chronométrie has won the main prize, the Aiguille d’Or award, at the 14th annual Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève.
The timepiece, which was launched at BaselWorld last year, features innovative magnetic pivots on its balance staff.
According to Breguet, “this revolutionary solution relies on two endstrones, each fitted with a micro-magnet, at either end of the balance staff, in order to keep the balance staff centred and self-adjusting”.
“Held in an artificial gravitational force, the balance staff is unaffected by the different positions of the watch and the conditions at each pivot remain unchanged.
“The result is a balance staff that is insensitive to gravity, more stable and resistant to shocks.
“These innovations protected by six patents bring the reference 7727’s average rate to -1/+3 seconds a day, well within the COSC chronometer standard of -4/+6 seconds a day.”
The other major winners at the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève, which attracted entries from “all the major watchmaking groups as well as a number of independent companies”, were:
Ladies’ Watch Prize: Blancpain, Women Off-centred Hour
Ladies’ High-Mech Watch Prize: Christophe Claret, Margot
Men’s Watch Prize: Urban Jürgensen & Sonner, Central Second
Chronograph Watch Prize: De Bethune, DB29 Maxichrono Tourbillon
Tourbillon Watch Prize: Grönefeld, Parallax Tourbillon
Calendar Watch Prize: A. Lange & Söhne, Richard Lange Perpetual Calendar “Terraluna”
Striking Watch Prize: Hublot, Classic Fusion Cathedral Tourbillon Minute Repeater
Mechanical Exception Watch Prize: Urwerk, EMC
“Petite Aiguille” Prize: Seiko, Grand Seiko Hi-Beat 36000 GMT
Sports Watch Prize: Zenith, El Primero Lightweight
Jewellery Watch Prize: Bulgari, Diva High Jewellery Emeralds
Artistic Crafts Watch Prize: Voutilainen, Hisui
“Revival” Watch Prize: Omega, Speedmaster “Dark Side Of The Moon”
Innovation Watch Prize: Urwerk, EMC
Special Jury Prize: Walter Lange
The public, voting on the internet and at exhibitions of the finalists, selected its own favourite – the Breguet Classique Dame.